Subscribe to KES Newsletter and Updates

Kenton Elementary School would like to periodically send out updates and newsletters directly to parents and the community. By submitting the following form, you’ll be added to our email list for these updates.

You address will never be sold or released to another party, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

* indicates required

School Delays and Closings Information


In the event that KCS would be on a two hour delay, school would begin at 10:00 AM.  No breakfast is served on days with two hour delays.

In the event that KCS would be on a three hour delay, school would begin at 11:00 AM and end at 3:30 PM.  No breakfast is served on days with three hour delays.

Any delay or closings will be announced on WKTN 95.3 FM, WLIO Lima, and Columbus 4, 6, and 10.

Online delay information may be obtained at and will be sent through the “Blackboard Connect” phone system to all those who are registered.

Outside Recess

1_mittens hat glove (1)

Winter is now upon us and the weather has taken a turn.  Therefore, it is essential that your children wear winter coats, hats, and gloves. Snow boots are also necessary now that snow has arrived.

We will be going outside for recess as long as the temperature/wind chill is 20 degrees or higher.

Our students enjoy the fresh air and need to expend energy.  Students are not allowed to stay inside unless they have a note from the doctor or their teacher requests they stay in to finish or make up work.

Lunch Menu: Week of December 5th – December 9th

School Lunch

Tony’s Cheese Pizza
Green Beans
Choice of Milk

Pasta with Meat Sauce
Texas Toast
Choice of Milk

Hot Dog on a Bun
Coney Sauce (optional)
Fresh Veggies with Dip
Choice of Milk

Breaded Chicken
Baked Beans
Dinner Roll
Choice of Milk

Hamburger on a Bun with Pickles and Cheese
Oven Potatoes
Choice of Milk

3rd Grade Holiday Program Information

Music Notes

The Kenton Elementary School third grade students will present their Christmas Musical on Thursday, December 8th at 7 PM in the Kenton Elementary School gymnasium.  The Dress Rehearsal will be approximately 1:30 PM that same day.  Grandparents and parents who work nights may attend the morning Dress Rehearsal.

Students should begin to arrive at Kenton Elementary School on Thursday, December 8th at approximately 6:30 PM and go to their classrooms.  PLEASE MARK YOUR CALENDARS NOW SO THAT ALL STUDENTS IN THIRD GRADE AT KENTON ELEMENTARY SCHOOL ARE IN ATTENDANCE.

The program is called, “Crazy Christmas.”  Everything’s wild at the North Pole.  Join the fun as Santa, the Elves, the Reindeer, and our students go crazy for Christmas!

Costumes are pretty easy!  Just have your student wear bright Christmas colors!

If your child is in Miss Howard, Mrs. Ewing, Mrs. Mikesell’s classes, please park in the back parking lot (where the buses park) and enter the school through the back door.  If your child is in Mrs. Sprang, Mrs. Gammon, Ms. Erter, or Mrs. Oakes’ classes, please park in the front parking lot and enter the school through the front door.

As an added bonus this year, if 100% of any individual class is in attendance, those students will receive an ice cream sundae or cookie party during their next music class!  AND, if 100% of all Mrs. Sheldon’s or Mr. Davis’ classes attend the evening performance, each class will get the ice cream sundae party/cookie party plus an extra recess during their music class!

If your child needs a ride to the evening performance or have any questions, please contact the school office at 419-673-7248.

KES Kroger Community Rewards Program


Thank you to everyone who has already signed up for the Kenton Elementary School Kroger Community Rewards Program.

To sign up for the Kroger Community Rewards, follow these instructions:

  • Register online at
  • Be sure to have your Kroger Plus card – if you don’t have one, they are available at the customer service desk at any Kroger.
  • Click on sign in/register.
  • Sign up for a Kroger Rewards Account by entering your email address and creating a password.
  • You will then get a message to check your email inbox and click on the link within the body of the email.
  • Click on My Account and use your email address and password to proceed to the next step.
  • Click on Edit Kroger Community Rewards information and input your Kroger Plus card number.
  • Update or confirm your information.
  • Enter the name of the organization (Kenton Elementary School), select the organization, and confirm.
  • To verify you are enrolled correctly, you will see Kenton Elementary School on the right side of your information page.
  • REMEMBER, purchases will not count for Kenton Elementary School until after you have registered your card (s).

If you don’t know your  Kroger Plus card number, you can call 877-576-7587.

Remember, you must swipe your registered card or use the phone number that is related to your Kroger Plus card when shopping for each purchase to count.